Hand Carving My Soap Embeds

I have been asked how I make my embeds.

Now, I am answering this question through post.

First, I start out by making a small batch of soap. Then I pour it into a mold that is about 1/2″ smaller in length, than my standard loaf mold.

tooth1

And that’s it!

You’re done!

Of course, I’m only joking.

After the soap has set up (about 15-20 hours later) You can release it from the mold, and get started.

tooth2

I then cut the soap length wise to make two embeds for two loaves of soap. This is optional.

tooth3

I use castor oil in place of my regular 2 ounces of olive oil in my embed soap. I find this helps to keep the soap really soft, which makes it easier to work with during the carving process.

tooth5

Once you start carving, you can carve anything you want.

tooth6

tooth7tooth8tooth9

This particular embed is for a dentist themed soap.

tooth10tooth11

Here is the finished tooth embed, ready to go in!

tooth12

tooth14

If your making a layered soap like I am, remember to let that first layer set up enough so that the embed stays in the right place, or in some cases doesn’t fall through the first layer.

tooooth

The final product. It’s a rather pathetic tooth, but it looks like a tooth from something. And that’s what matters.

DSC07774

Here is a setting sun embed, that I made for my endless summer soap.

DSC07773

Notice that I have carved this one down the bottom to make it resemble a setting sun.

DSC07844

DSC07847

Here is my first endless summer soap.

DSC08272

 

But not all soaps turn out the way you want them to. Here is my new Endless Summer Soap.

summer

Not only has the orange faded into a peach color, but the setting sun has fallen through the first layer. This really doesn’t make me think of a sun set, not at all!

Well I hope this post has been helpful to you.

is

 

 

One thought on “Hand Carving My Soap Embeds

What do you think?

